All Saints, Weasenham

This church is kept locked but keyholder details are available in the porch.
Parking nearby
Rood screen
Grade II*

Visit Website

This church building is managed by Norwich Diocesan Churches Trust.

The village of Weasenham boasts two medieval churches. The length of the south elevation of All Saints' Church is clearly visible from the lane. The magnificent 15th century porch displays intricate carving of the symbols of the Virgin Mary, with floral motifs, letter 'M's, elaborate statue niches and a flushwork base. In 1653 the tower fell down. Much of the church dates to the Edwardian period but earlier features can be spotted in the form of the Early English doorway, the 14th century arcade, and the Jacobean pulpit. Of particular significance is the 15th century rood screen base and its faceless saints. On the left are the Latin Doctors (St Ambrose, St Augustine, St Jerome and St Gregory). On the right are the Evangelists (St John, St Luke, St Mark and St Matthew). In the churchyard is an imposing chest tomb complete with an urn and dedicated to Richard Jackson, a local gentleman (d. 1768). This church is in the care of the Diocesan Churches Trust.

Incorrect information? Update this entry